What does the future holds

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” -How often do we hear this boring old question?
A Nigerian like me needs to be prepared for such questions because if by the age of 4 you haven’t prepared a concrete answer, there must be something spiritually wrong with you! Lol When asked that question as a child, I would tilt my head to the side, smile and say “I want to be a lawyer uncle” in the cutest British accent, and suddenly I was surrounded by proud adults who were all thinking the same thing …“Ahhhh thank God she didn’t say singer or dancer” Haha. I would glance over at my mother and we would exchange winks – Nancy the Lawyer. Everything was cool until one day, it hit me – Though I currently study law, I certainly do not want to be a lawyer. After realizing this, I spent months tirelessly searching for alternatives and trying to prepare myself for that dreaded question.

INFLUENCING THE NEXT GENERATION.

I used to be so anxious about my future, I wanted one of those polished 10-year plans but no matter how much I tried, I couldn’t see past my degree.
It was a worrying time but now you can ask me what I want to do with my life after University and I say, “I’m not sure.” Simple. This doesn’t mean I don’t care about my future or I lack ambition, passion or drive. It just mean that I haven’t got everything figured out. I feel free to openly declare my uncertainty with the future because I’m so confident that everything will fall into place. Plans are good, they are amazing in fact; they make you feel like you’re on
track, like you know what you’re doing, you’re in control. But how often do things actually go according to plan?

WHAT’s YOUR DREAM?.

Why is the success rate of plans so unimpressive? Well I think it’s because you find that there are some events that you have no control over. For example, you can plan to get to work at 9.00am
but you’re not in control of the traffic that morning. You can set your alarm for 7.00am but you cannot prevent the car accident that closed off the major road and left all modes of transportation at a standstill. Focus on the here and now. You may not be 100% sure about your future career path but you may know for sure that that you want to further your
studies abroad, then concentrate and work hard towards that goal. Look for scholarships, find an appropriate degree course suited for you, apply for Universities, enquire about visa applications. Just keep working hard and keep you eyes peeled for new opportunities. Obama didn’t know he
would be the first black president when he was in his twenties. Doors will open at the right time. Everything will fall into place. Keep on keeping on people!

Leave a Reply

